That and Who and Whodat?!

Yes, I know, it’s been a while, and I can see that you’ve all missed me by the overwhelming amounts of comments and grammatical inquiries.

It’s red-tailed fox season, and life as a llama gets very busy this time of year. Amidst the alert chatters I do to keep my family safe, I almost forgot about how much this world is in need of a good grammar lesson or two.

On that note…

Today I was writing at work, hunched over and drooling as always, until I stopped dead in my tracks with a dilemma. My sentence was progressing something like the following:

The angry band of Grosse Pointe sea monsters will receive compassionate care from attorneys who…that…who…that…whodat?!

Oh no. I should know this…I mean, I KNOW I know this, but for a second my mind went as dumb as a ShamWow!®.

So, listen up, you dummies! When you’re talking about people, you use “who”. When you’re talking about a thing (an inanimate object of sorts, if you will), you use “that”. You may also use “that” when you’re speaking of a large group of people.

Example time!

Patsie claims that it was Nessie who crawled out of the lake to steal a sheep and a biscuit.

The Tea Party Movement is comprised of individuals that demand new episodes of Matlock air on daytime television.

Paula Deen is the nice Southern lady who cooks with approximately 24,000 sticks of butter per recipe.

You remember Edmund’s apartment, right? It’s the one that smells like someone left a plate of tilapia under the couch.

Flavorflav was busy watching The View when he heard a knock at the door and exclaimed, “WHO DAT?!

You may also use whodat?! when it’s really dark outside and someone is talking to you, but you can’t see their face.

Get it? Got it? Good.

All for now,

LL

1 Comment

Filed under That versus who

One response to “That and Who and Whodat?!

  1. Chet

    Thank ewe fore that now ledge a bull inn fore may shin LL. Eye all sew say whodat win it is dark and eye can knot tell who is at the door.

Leave a Reply

